NYX: electronic drone choir with Iona Fortune

NYX and Iona Fortune will conduct a liminal ceremony, re-embodying digital instrumentation and live electronics. Following recent commissions at Berlin’s Atonal Festival and Dark Mofo in Tasmania, Iona will join NYX to continue sonic exploration of the I Ching, it’s symbology, inherent energy & cosmological significance.

Iona Fortune is a composer/producer hailing from Glasgow, Scotland. Inspired by Eastern philosophy, her music is influenced by oriental sounds and features a palette of instruments that includes the Guzheng, Gamelan and EMS Synthi AKS. Debuting on Optimo Music in 2017, her first album Tao of I (the first of an 8-part series of releases exploring the hexagrams of the I-Ching) received much critical acclaim & saw her supporting various artists including Laraaji, Factory Floor and Oliver Coates in her hometown as well as a full UK tour opening for rock legends Shellac. Following this, she was involved in a special one-off event at De School’s art gallery De Aula as part of ADE. Employing an unusual composition technique that involves inner cultivation, one could say her sonic world exists somewhere out of the realm of the ordinary.

NYX is an electronic drone choir amplifying mindful experiences, psycho-acoustics and sound healing through an immersive exploration of ambient, noise and electronic music. Over the series, NYX has invited each collaborator to perform in a deep listening space, replacing digital instruments and field recordings with collective female modulated or organic voice, improvising new material, interacting with original NYX compositions and together, creating a euphoric collective experience for audiences.

Support to be announced.

Check out other shows in the NYX series with: Alicia Jane Turner (with Dead Light)

There are a limited amount of series passes available here.

NYX is made with support by Arts Council England, commune, Ableton, The Pickle Factory and The Quietus.

NYX is a collaborative project between Sian O’Gorman, Philippa Neels and Joshua Thomas.